The Honorable Joseph R. Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC, 20500 Ms. Ursula von der Leyen European Commission Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat 200 1049 Brussels

Dear President Biden and President von der Leyen:

Thank you for your leadership during this incredibly challenging time. We are writing today to respond to your recent Joint Energy Security Statement, establishing the joint Task Force for Energy Security. We applaud your efforts to respond to the crisis in Ukraine, end the import of Russian oil and gas, and accelerate the global transition to clean energy. We agree that the energy security and sustainability of the European Union and Ukraine are essential for peace, freedom, and democracy in Europe. Existing fossil fuel infrastructure as well as projects being constructed, or soon to be, are already more than enough to match the necessary amount of demand if renewable energy technologies are deployed as aggressively.

It is essential that the Task Force for Energy Security develops a plan that ensures no new financing, exploration licenses, or permits for coal, oil or gas extraction, exports, imports, and infrastructure. While the Joint Statement included specific details for natural gas, it did not contain such specificity for developing clean, renewable energy. The Task Force must develop a plan to swiftly move the European Union and United States off fossil fuels and onto clean, renewable energy by 2035. It is critically important that our countries not lock ourselves into decades of further reliance on fossil fuels when climate science, environmental justice, and public health concerns necessitate a rapid transition towards full renewable energy.

Liquified natural gas (LNG) infrastructure can take at least three years to build, thus failing to address Europe's short-term energy needs to transition off Russian gas. Building new fossil fuel infrastructure diverts resources from the investments we need to address the climate crisis and ensure the energy security from energy efficiency and renewable sources. Recent analysis shows that the European Union can replace two thirds of Russian gas by 2025 through energy efficiency and renewable energy, before any new LNG infrastructure could come online. Instead of focusing on LNG expansion, the Task Force should focus on the clean energy strategies outlined in the Joint Statement, such as ramping up heat pump deployment and installations, scaling procurement for clean energy equipment, and accelerating clean energy workforce deployment.

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change warns that the window to secure a livable future is rapidly closing. Further expansion of fossil fuel infrastructure in the United States and

Europe is destined to set us back during a moment when we should be doing everything within our power to avert climate catastrophe. Such expansion will put both the United States and the European Union on the wrong path to meet our respective Paris Agreement goals, as outlined in the Joint Statement. Continued build out of fossil fuel infrastructure will also build on the already dangerous impacts faced by our frontline and fenceline communities. Hydraulic fracturing wells and LNG infrastructure poison our environment and the air and water that these communities rely on.

The European Union and United States must prioritize investment in renewable energy, energy efficiency, and electrification, which are critical to transitioning off fossil fuels and will allow us to move past the boom-and-bust cycles inherent in fossil fuel energy. Additionally, we must end financing, exploration, and permits for new fossil fuels infrastructure. This is the pathway to true energy independence and climate security. We look forward to your plan to ensure a clean energy transition and a rapid transition off fossil fuels.

Sincerely,

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator Marie Toussaint
Member of the

European Parliament

Jerrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Andy Levin

Member of Congress

Mark Takano

Member of Congress

Donald M. Payna, Ir

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress Alan S. Lowenthal
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barras Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress James P. McGovern Member of Congress **Bernard Sanders** United States Senator Elizabeth Warren **United States Senator** /<sub>S</sub>/ Maria Arena, MEP

Manon Aubry, MEP

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress Marie Newman Member of Congress Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress **United States Senator** José Gusmao, MEP

Petros Kokkalis, MEP

/s/ Michael Bloss, MEP	hilippe Lamberts, MEI
/s/_	/s/_
Mohammed Chahim, MEP	Marisa Matias, MEP
/s/_	/s/
Leïla Chaibi, MEP	Tilly Metz, MEP
/s/	/s/
Ignazio Corrao, MEP	Ville Niinistö, MEP
/s/	/s/
Ciaran Cuffe, MEP	Jutta Paulus, MEP
/s/_	/s/_
Bas Eickhout, MEP	Sirpa Pietikainen, MEP
/s/ Cornelia Ernst, MEP	/s/_Caroline Roose, MEP
/ <sub>S</sub> / Eleonora Evi, MEP	/s/_ Paul Tang, MEP
/s/	/s/_
Claudia Gamon, MEP	Ernest Urtasun, MEP