

Brussels, 13 April 2021

Dear Ms Ursula Von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, Dear Mr David Sassoli, President of the European Parliament, Dear Mr António Costa, Prime Minister of Portugal,

First of all, we the undersigned Members of the European Parliament would like to welcome the launching of the Conference on the Future of Europe. We believe that it represents a great opportunity to enhance citizens' participation, transparency and ultimately to advance towards a greater legitimacy of the European project.

On 10th March 2021, you signed the Joint Declaration on the Conference on the Future of Europe. As established by this Joint Declaration, a new "interactive multilingual digital platform" will be launched on the 19th of April in order to create a bottom-up channel of communication and make possible a broad citizens' participation across the European Union. Nevertheless, it seems that this digital platform, which is now under preparation, will only be available in the official languages of the EU.

We believe that such a digital platform should be even more multilingual by reflecting the true richness and variety of European culture and linguistic reality. We would not like to see that the digital tool sets, in practice, a linguistic barrier that would be fundamentally contradictory with the very aim of the Conference on the Future of Europe: citizens' participation.

Today, in the digital era, not only should it be easier to take on board more European languages but it would also be beneficial for all European citizens as well as for the project of the Conference of Europe itself.

For this reason, we ask you to consider the inclusion of all the European languages which, while not being official languages of the EU, enjoy some kind of official status in any Member State.

Sincerely yours,



MEP Jordi Solé (Greens/EFA)

MEP Diana Riba (Greens/EFA)

MEP Alex Agius Saliba (S&D)

MEP François Alfonsi (Greens/EFA)

MEP Rasmus Andresen (Greens/EFA)

MEP Pernando Barrena (The Left)

MEP Izaskun Bilbao Barandica (Renew)

MEP Benoit Biteau (Greens/EFA)

MEP Antoni Comín (NI)

MEP Ignazio Corrao (Greens/EFA)

MEP Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield (Greens/EFA)

MEP Herbert Dorfmann (EPP)

MEP Daniel Freund (Greens/EFA)

MEP Marketa Gregorova (Greens/EFA)

MEP Niyazi Kizilyurek (The Left)

MEP Lukasz Kohut (S&D)

MEP Kateřina Konečná (The Left)

MEP Katrin Langensiepen (Greens/EFA)

MEP Lukas Mandl (EPP)

MEP Chris Macmanus (The Left)

MEP Karen Melchior (Renew)

MEP Manu Pineda (The Left)

MEP Clara Ponsatí (NI)

MEP Carles Puigdemont (NI)

MEP Sira Rego (The Left)

MEP María Eugenia Rodríguez Palop (The Left)

MEP Ernest Urtasun (Greens/EFA)

MEP Loránt Vincze (EPP)

MEP Tatjana Zdanoka (Greens/EFA)