To the attention of Mr. Gianni Infantino, President of FIFA

Dear President Infantino,

In our capacity of Members of the European Parliament, we are writing to ask you to provide us with explanations on the facts occurred during the Club World Cup medal ceremony in Doha, on the 12th February 2021.

Images of the award ceremony show an unacceptable difference in treatment between women and men. During the ceremony, Sheik Joaan bin Hamad bin Khalifa al-Thani, Qatari Prince and also president of the Qatar Olympic Committee, greets the male referees with his fist, while the two female officials, Edina Alves Batista and Neuza Back, are not acknowledged with the same gesture.

In football, there must be no place for any form of discrimination and FIFA should strongly condemn any difference in treatment between women and men. We ask you to take urgent action to tackle gender discrimination in football and further promote gender equality.

In light of the upcoming 2022 World Cup, to be held in Qatar from the 21st November to the 18th December, we would like to express our strong concern on women's rights restrictions applied in this country, due to the male guardianship law, and we kindly ask you to provide us with explanations on how FIFA will ensure that gender equality will be protected and promoted during this sports event.

We look forward to receiving your reply and learning how you will take action.

Yours sincerely,

Irène Tolleret MEP
Marc Angel MEP
Carmen Avram MEP
François-Xavier Bellamy MEP
Brando Benifei MEP
Segio Berlato MEP
Izaskun Bilbao Barandica MEP
Sylvie Brunet MEP
Catherine Chabaud MEP
Olivier Chastel MEP
Antoni Comín i Oliveres MEP
Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield MEP
Laurence Farreng MEP
Carlo Fidanza MEP

Sandro Gozi MEP

Francisco Guerrreiro MEP

Billy Kelleher MEP

Fabienne Keller MEP

Lukasz Kohut MEP

Nathalie Loiseau MEP

Emmanuel Maurel MEP

Costas Mavrides MEP

Karen Melchior MEP

Ville Niinistö MEP

Dimitrios Papadimoulis MEP

Pina Picierno MEP

Clara Ponsatí Obiols MEP

Carles Puidgemont i Casamaió MEP

Samira Rafaela MEP

Sylwia Spurek MEP

Romana Tomc MEP

Ernest Urtasun MEP

Hilde Vautmans MEP

Adrián Vázquez Lázara MEP

Marie-Pierre Vedrenne MEP

Guy Verhofstadt MEP

Salima Yenbou MEP

Stéphanie Yon-Courtin MEP

Chrysoula Zacharopoulou MEP

Erwan Balanant, Member of the French National Assembly Bérangère Couillard, Member of the French National Assembly Nadège Havet, Member of the French Senate Danièle Hérin, Member of the French National Assembly Gael Le Bohec, Member of the French National Assembly Corinne Vignon, Member of the French National Assembly